18
Mar
09

Tokyo International Anime Fair – Gurren Lagann

taf2009_019Tokyo International Anime Fair (TAF 2009) opens its doors today; the 18th at Tokyo Big Sight. TAF is currently the worlds largest anime exhibition and is held every year for 4 days.

Some of the major figure companies that participated in the exhibition were, to name a few, Bandai, MaxFactory, Goodsmile Company, Wave, etc.

Moving along, lots of delicious figures were showcased but I’ll only talk about the Gurren Lagann figs for now.

But before we move along any further, full coverage of the exhibition (figures only) can be found in the links below:

–Hobby Stock: Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann, Goodsmile & Max Factory, Bandai & Yamato
–Moeyo: Full report 1, Full report 2, Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann
Akiba Hobby
GA Graphic

taf2009_023
Another Yomako-sensei figure, this time by WAVE.  She’s 1/10 scale. Not sure if want.

taf2009_020
Here’s another figure by WAVE, Nia Teppelin Swimsuit version. She measure’s at a scale of 1/10 as well. The face looks odd. I’m not a Nia fan so this I’ll probably not get. I never mentioned this but Eye Up announced in their blog a while back that they are working on Nia and Viral figures. So I’m waiting to see how those will turn out. Eye Up Viral will definately GET.

taf2009_047
Looks like Max Factory seems to be getting into the TTGL franchise as well. Max Factory will be releasing this gorgeous alternative look Yoko–we’ve all seen this figure before as a garage kit. It’s nice that this will get the PVC treatment; now I won’t have the dilemma of whether to purchase the painted garage kit from E2046 anymore, orz. I’m not sure of the scale, but perhaps 1/6? More pictures can be found over at Moeyo!

taf2009_010
Here’s Yoko from the Kuji Club Premium set. Yoko looks way nicer here on display than when we saw her back then in the promo images. I still say her torso looks odd–too curvy I suppose. Not sure if want.

taf2009_013
Here’s Lord Genome, also from the Kuji Club Premium set. It’s figures like these that I wish these weren’t prize figures because LORD GENOME FIG DO WANT. I’ll probably try to get my hands on this one once it’s out ‘n about at the Y!J auctions. I’m sure it’ll cost me an arm and a leg tho. /sob

taf2009_012
Gurren Lagann with its huge drill. Once again, another Kuji Club Premium prize figure. VERY DO WANT. I think Lord Genome and this Gurren Lagann are the only figures from the prize set I’ll try to get my hands on. I-it’s epic. Ohgod. LOOK AT THAT FABULOUS DRILL.

Other Kuji Club Premium set figures are these little TTGL chibi prize figs below.
taf2009_015

taf2009_016

taf2009_017

taf2009_014

Other TTGL figures
taf2009_001

taf2009_018

1 Response to “Tokyo International Anime Fair – Gurren Lagann”


  1. 1 joel
    May 4, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    i totally just bought that massive drill gurren


Leave a Reply

Figure Reviews


Viral
G.E.M. Sakata Gintoki

Categories

currently watching

Gintama
Fairy Tail
Heroman
One Piece
Sex Pistols
Winter Sonata

