21
Aug
09

Gundam Big Expo 2009

g049As part of Gundam 30th anniversary celebration, the 3 day Gundam Big Expo 2009 is currently being held this weekend August 21-23 at Tokyo Big Sight in Odaiba, Tokyo.

Digged around through my usual otaku blog sources for coverage on the Gundam Big Expo. Being the big gundam whore that I am, you can imagine how excited I got with all the neat gunpla that was shown.

However, this sexy beast of a plastic got me hella ecstatic like you wouldn’t believe, the 1/35 scale Gundam Fix Figuration RX-78-2 Ver.Ka. It was the main talk of the event amongst the attendees. It’s going to be 500mm (50cm tall)–that’s almost 2 FEET TALL. It will come with a display base with lighting gimmick and metal plate with a unique serial number. No price as of yet but I imagine it’ll cost an arm and a leg and a few organs (I’m thinking a few hundreds here and there.). Release date is March 2010. Some nice close-up shots at Akiba Hobby.

I’m not one to dish out that much money for something like this, but that’s one sexy piece of plastic that’s tempting me to save up and buy it. Other than that, the other thing that caught my eye was the Perfect Grade 00-Raiser (more PG 00-Raiser pics here). Oh Gundam, look what you do to me!

Source and coverage of the event:
Akiba Hobby
–Moeyo: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

6 Responses to “Gundam Big Expo 2009”


  1. August 21, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    sexy indeed! ive been looking for a Gundam RX-78-2 kit to build, when i saw this i said “this is the one!” then i noticed it was 1/35 scale o.O guuuuuu thats going to bring one hefty bill, and its the same height as a Dollfie! imagine the time it will take to put this together perfectly… i think i want to take on that challenge! and dare i say add battle damage lol that would be nuts.

    • 2 Haru
      August 21, 2009 at 11:56 pm

      I’ve always wanted a RX-78 gunpla but never really got around to buying one. Now that I see this one, well, like you said, “THIS IS THE ONE!”. I think this one will come already built. Gundam Fix Figuration’s come pre-built (except the accessories of course)–this is just a BIGGER VERSION of those small GFF’s. I’ve never bought a GFF since I like building my own gunpla instead (hey, it’s fun!).

      And oh dear, that battle damage addage? It would look hella sweet! lolol

      • August 22, 2009 at 1:04 am

        right GFF XD would be so cool if this was a kit. making your own Gunpla is the best! thats definitely my preferred route. ohh and totally forgot about the PG OO-Raiser, i will need to touch up my skills before attempting a PG again ^^

        i havent seen any of your Gunpla! show me the goods :3 i still want to get a Strike Freedom and Crossbone kit, discovered a few tips and tricks looking at modeling sites/blogs, want to try em out soon.

        • 4 Haru
          August 22, 2009 at 8:55 pm

          I agree, it’d be awesome if it were a kit! It would be a good challenge putting that thing together. Yeah, I’d have to touch up my skills too before attempting to build a PG, orz. Haven’t done a PG in ages. ^^;;

          Will take a picture of them one of these days, it’s sad to say but most of my gunpla are boxed up as well, ORZ. I have a 1/100 MG Strike Freedom that I bought years ago; It’s a kit I recommend so I hope you can get your hands on one soon!

  2. August 23, 2009 at 11:28 am

    That’s one awesome gundam!! I’d be tempted to get it when it comes out but… I also wonder how expensive it will be…eep ^^;


Leave a Reply

Figure Reviews


Viral
G.E.M. Sakata Gintoki

Categories

currently watching

Gintama
Fairy Tail
Heroman
One Piece
Sex Pistols
Winter Sonata

RSS Anime News Network

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

