30
Aug
09

Chara Hobby 2009

img_1789796_55860859_20The Chara Hobby 2009 event opened its doors Saturday in Japan and has already come to an end. The event took place in Makuhari Messe and ran throughout the weekend, August 29-30. I’ve been stalking my usual sources for the event since the event started and quite honestly nothing really caught my interest this time around. Yeah, there were a few eye catching figures and very gorgeous ones but not something to make me jizz my pantsu over and make it on my GET list–well maybe a figure or two but that’s it, orz. I also wanted to wait for the second day of the event to post about it in one go in case some new stuff popped up. Very image heavy after the jump.

Sources and more coverage at:
— ABnormal END: 1 | 2
— Akiba Hobby: 1 | 2
— Amiami: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
— Hobby Stock: 1 | 2
— Moeyo: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12
Kansaitei
— Dengeki Online: 1 | 2
— Pam’s Flickr Stream: 1

Additional sources:
wcloudx (kumo)

A few days ago Alpha Omega updated their site with a few silhouette’s of some of their upcoming releases. They were to be unveiled in this weekend’s Chara Hobby event but I’ve yet to find any prototype photos of them. From looking at the silhouette’s at the website, right off the bat the first one would be Ranka, next Sarugaki Hiyori, however, the third one was a bit difficult to tell but I had the hunch, like a few others, that it’d be Nell. And yes, it’s Nell. It’s kinda surprising Alpha Omega is jumping on the Bleach bandwagon and releasing two figures. But then again not so surprising since MegaHouse has released a few Bleach figures of their own.

And speaking of Megahouse, judging by the OP image above, it looks like MegaHouse will be adding Hitsugaya Toushiro to their G.E.M. series. Sculpted by Moriwaki Naoto; same sculptor who did Lelouch and Gintoki from the G.E.M. line. Not a huge fan of Hitsugaya so I’m not sure if I’ll be getting this one… must look at prototype first. I think it would have been neat to add Hirako Shinji to the G.E.M. line instead of Hitsugaya, but that’s just me (and he’d accompany Hiyori nicely).

Like I said, I haven’t found any prototype photos of the figures showcased at the event, BUT I did find some of Sarugaki Hiyori at Figure/GK yesterday, hoho! I think the figure looks amazing. And I might just have to indulge. Will probably update this post if prototype photos of the other figures show up.

Anyway! On to the other figures!
ch_56
Nendoroid Nakano Azusa from K-ON! by Good Smile Company. No date/price yet. Azunyaaaan! I’ve been waiting for this. Aaah! These K-ON! nendo’s will be the death of my wallet.

ch_57

ch_55

ch_54
Nendoroid Plus Queen’s Blade Keychain Set by Good Smile Company.

Looks like Good Smile Company is producing a new line of Nendoroids aside from the regular Nendoroids and Nendoroid Puchi–Nendoroid Plus, which look like to be keychains. They’re approximately 6cm tall. They’re starting off the line with a set of Queen’s Blade keychains (above). Not interested in these at all, but hopefully they’ll release other keychains of chars that I’m more into, orz.

ch_63

ch_62

c029
Nendoroid Jiei-tan from Magical Marine Pixel Mari-tan by Good Smile Company. No price/date yet.

c030

c025
1/8 scale Hayakawa Yuzuko from Peppermint Yuzuko by Good Smile Company. I think this figure will go on my GET list…

c034
1/8 scale Alphard from Canaan by Good Smile Company. No date/price yet.

c077

ch_01
1/8 scale Ranka Lee from Macross Frontier by Alpha Omega. Release date is somewhere in 2010.

ch_07
1/8 scale Sheryl Nome N.A. Ver. from Macross Frontier by MegaHouse. Release date December 2009. No Price.

c001
1/4 scale Garage Kit KOS-MOS Ver. 4 from Xenosaga III by Volks. Chara Hobby 2009 exclusive. Price 50,400yen. Gorgeous kit with a hefty price.

ch_14

ch_13
The latest figure from MegaHouse’s P.O.P series, 1/8 scale Luffy Movie Ver. I really need to get started on collecting the whole P.O.P series.

c083

c108

3f5ad57d
K-ON! Prop Plus Petits!

a832e689
Ignoring the Haruhi Petit figures, I’m more interested in the Fullmetal Alchemist chibi I-dolls. It would have been best if the set included other characters aside from the 3 different Edwards you see there but I expect another set to come out in the near future with other chars. Edward’s “angry” face would have to be my favorite of the three, lol. Al is just too cute there. I WANT ROY SO BAD. AND A LING ONE TOO.

The event also had some lovely garage kits!
c20090830_c3chara_c043
Why yes, MORE RANKA!

c20090830_c3chara_c074

c20090830_c3chara_c045
And lots of Meer Campbell!

c20090830_c3chara_c046

c20090830_c3chara_c048
That’s one hot Meer GK.

c20090830_c3chara_c007

c20090830_c3chara_c005

c20090830_c3chara_c006

c20090830_c3chara_c079
I gotta say, that’s quite a sexy GK.

c20090830_c3chara_c080

c20090830_c3chara_c049

c20090830_c3chara_c022

3869498943_8dac11e6bb_b
Tieria looks a bit too bulky there, but its a bit surprising to see a GK of him.

More detailed reports in the links above. I’m quite selective on what I cover, lol.

Bwah, that’s pretty much it. Maybe I’m too much of a male figure whore, and not so much a female figure collector, ORZZZ–I like my girls but I love my boys more. And I was expecting a new figure from MegaHouse’s G.E.M. series, but I totally wasn’t expecting it to be Hitsugaya next. MEGAHOUSE, I’M SENDING YOU VIBES; MAKE A ROY MUSTANG FIGUREEE. OR AYANAMI FROM 07-GHOST WOULD BE A NICE PICK TOO–military uniform…

7 Responses to “Chara Hobby 2009”


  1. August 30, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Wow! I love the Gundam 00 garage kits. The Tieria looks way too buff, but I’m glad there’s one instead of none. *prays garage kits of the other Meisters(specifically Allelujah!) and Gundam 00 PVCs*

    Azu-nyan is so cute! Ugh…buying all 5 K-ON Nendos will be killer.

    • 2 Haru
      August 31, 2009 at 12:22 am

      Some fully scaled PVC figs of all five Meisters would be nice! I can’t believe they haven’t made any; how unfortunate. TT__TT.

  2. August 31, 2009 at 5:09 am

    LOL “jizz my pantsu” XD

    i didnt really keep track of the coverage. im seeing quite a few wants but not ready to put em on the GET list. Megahouse GEM line will include Nel! awesome, waiting for pics of her ^^ also need to start picking up some One Piece POP figs too, movie version Luffy looks awesome and cant get enough of Tony Tony Chopper.

    and too much cute nendos and petits flooding in XD

    • 4 Haru
      August 31, 2009 at 5:50 am

      LOLOL. That’s how I usually describe myself obsessing over a figure I really want or something. XD

      Yeah, lots of wants for me too. Actually, MegaHouse’s G.E.M. line is geared towards the ladies and feature only male figs, Nell will be by Alpha Omega. And yeah! Can’t wait to see how Nell looks like. I was expecting them to unveil her prototype at the event but looks like they didn’t? What a tease!

      I think there are so many P.O.P figures out already and that’s what’s holding me back a bit. I also wouldn’t know which P.O.P figure to start with, but eventually I’ll get around to collecting them all.

  3. July 23, 2014 at 3:09 pm

    For most up-to-date information you have to pay a
    quick visit world-wide-web and on world-wide-web I found this site as
    a most excellent website for most recent updates.


Leave a Reply

Figure Reviews


Viral
G.E.M. Sakata Gintoki

Categories

currently watching

Gintama
Fairy Tail
Heroman
One Piece
Sex Pistols
Winter Sonata

