04
Sep
09

REVIEW: Sakata Gintoki by MegaHouse

mega-ginsan00sd

Manufacturer MegaHouse
Series Line G.E.M.
Character Gintoki Sakata (坂 田 銀 時)
Series GINTAMA (銀 魂)
Release Date 2009/08/28
Scale 1/8
Size 22cm
Sculptor Moriwaki Naoto
Price ¥6,600
Official HP http://www.megahobby.jp/products/gem/ginsan/
Personal Rating 4.5/5

——————–
This morning the post office man bought me a hot piece of plastic. It was Gintoki and his giant, shiny fork!

I remember I mentioned I wanted to do a photoshoot of this figure once it arrived, unfortunately, I haven’t gotten around to buying the proper equipment I need (aka lighting, tripod, and all that other crap) so it’ll have to wait till who knows when. For now, I took a few quick snapshots. This is more like a small, quick, half-assed review. And there is major blurriness and noise (forgot to set camera settings) in some of these photos, orz–so ignore that.

I am very happy I pre-ordered this.  When pre-orders went up for this figure I wasn’t so sure if to get him but then I ordered him on a whim and I regret nothing. And it’s a good thing I pre-ordered him too since he’s currently sold out at Hobby Search and HLJ–wasn’t expecting him to sell out so fast.

Anyway, on to the photos! Photos are clickable for bigger view.

I’ll admit, I have a thing for Gintoki’s sexy, shiny high-boots–they look great on him (and I mean amazingly great. Perhaps I have a high-boots fetish…). Even Sadaharu thinks so. (the dog). But just overall, the shiny finish on his boots looks amazing.

His pants also have a light, silvery finish on them, which I doubt you an see clearly in these photos, orz.

I love the detail on his yukata! Forgot to take photos of him with his bakuto. I think I’ll leave him with his fork for now and give him a piece of cake later. One tiny gripe I have about this figure is his back posture; I think he leans too far back. Then again, it depends what angle you display him so it doesn’t really matter.

Most likely I’ll come back and add a bit more photos that I still need to edit/resize. I’m not sure where I’ll display him, lol no space. For now I’ll leave him on my desk so I can ogle at him 24/7.

16 Responses to “REVIEW: Sakata Gintoki by MegaHouse”


  1. September 4, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    He looks great! Haha, I love the donuts in the background of those last photos! I remember when he was announced, I was tempted to get him as well, but never have watched the anime, nor do I anything about the character. Still, seeing your photos is making me start to regret not ordering him! The more male figures, the merrier~ (゚∀゚)

    • 2 Haru
      September 4, 2009 at 10:17 pm

      The figure came with two kinds of backgrounds, one side with donuts and the other side was mostly plain black. ^^ I’m kinda behind on the anime; I’m currently trying to catch up. If you’re into comedy and huge doses of humor/and complete utter stupidity to the point where you fall off your chair from laughing then I highly recommend it, lol.

  2. September 4, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    woohoo he looks awesome! unfortunately he is another character im unfamiliar with ^^; these arent your official photoshoot pics? they already surpass anything ive ever produced XD i really like his giant fork.

    LOL at boot fetish! now this is how shiny leather should shine *compares with BRS jacket* in the last shot hes ready to attack the food while the doggy admires his boots :P
    congrats on your lovely new fig ^^

    • 4 Haru
      September 4, 2009 at 10:04 pm

      I added some info on the figure at the top of the post. Character name/series links you to wiki in case you’re curious on who, what, where, etcetc ^^. And nah, these were taken pretty quickly so most likely I’ll redo the shoot later on when I get all the stuff I need. This will be like a small quick review on it or something. I love the fork too, haha!

      Or perhaps he’s ready to attack Sadaharu? Since he is a giant, alien dog who gnaws on peoples’ heads lolol!

      And thank you! I’m enjoying him very much to the point where I can’t peel my eyes off him. ^^

      • September 6, 2009 at 5:27 pm

        i just watched the Gintama JUMP FESTA Anime Tour 2005… it was hilarious! lol so random and crazy. i had too look into once you mentioned the “giant, alien dog who gnaws on people’s heads” i love Sadaharu ^^

        gonna try and fit this anime into my packed to-watch list ^^;

    • September 4, 2009 at 10:12 pm

      WHOA! We posted at the same time! xDDD!!!

  3. 10 Selidor
    September 5, 2009 at 5:46 am

    He looks really nice. Those boots are definitely sexy, especially with the shiny finish.

    I might have to get him when I have money.

  4. 11 G.K. Sil Kamina
    September 22, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    Wow, now that’s a fine looking fella. I had him on pre-order but had to give him up. I still plan on getting him someday far in the future…judging by how fast he sold out, it looks like I’ll have to do some serious hunting for him.

    • 12 Haru
      September 22, 2009 at 9:58 pm

      It’s an amazing figure; Megahouse did such an excellent job with it. I hope you’ll be able to grab him later on! :) Goodluck with the hunting.

  5. January 31, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    First visit on your blog (arrived here via a banner on Rocklee’s blog)
    A sympathetic review on a review who always leaved me perplex. I can’t decide if i like it enough to buy it. LooooL
    Still i really love the details on her cloths and the expression of her face.

  6. 14 Anonymous
    May 1, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    I was wondering if he’s a potential leaner since he his back leans?

    • 15 Haru
      May 2, 2010 at 2:23 pm

      I think many, if not all, figures are potential leaners. However, if I had to say, I think Gintoki won’t be leaning any time soon, or if at all. His back does lean a bit far back but the posture of his legs balances his whole body pretty well (I’m not sure if you’ll get what I mean, haha). So if you’re considering getting him, then go for it! It’s a figure I recommend to everyone, especially if you’re into Gintama. ^^

  7. April 3, 2013 at 12:11 pm

    This website was… how do you say it? Relevant!
    ! Finally I have found something which helped
    me. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Figure Reviews


Viral
G.E.M. Sakata Gintoki

Categories

currently watching

Gintama
Fairy Tail
Heroman
One Piece
Sex Pistols
Winter Sonata

