13
Oct
09

REVIEW: Viral by UpLark

uplark-viraltop

Today was a good day, oh yes. My Viral arrived. Not so much of a long review from my part but I’ll rather let the photos speak for themselves.

UpLark, formally known as EyeUp, have released some incredible figures throughout the recent years. One of their most impressing line of figures are from their Gurren Lagann line; Kamina, Yoko, and the most recently released this past September, Nia and Viral. All are amazing and worth every penny, nickel, dime, dollar–you get it.

Manufacturer UpLark
Character Viral

Series Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann (天元突破グレンラガン)
Release Date 2009/09/30
Scale 1/8
Size 15.5cm
Sculptor Black Sabbath
Price ¥7,800
Official HP http://www.uplark.co.jp/hobby/product/006.html
Rating 5/5

Viral, sculpted by Black Sabbath (one of my top favorite sculptors, btw), has quite the dynamic pose; he’s ready to kick ass and chop you to bits with that hot-blooded expression that’s saying he’s about to rip you a new one with his fabulous hatchet :D! Everything about this figure is spot on from head to toe, especially the face. It looks like he jumped right out of the anime itself; he’s prefect.






uplark-viraltop2
One, among the many other things I love about this figure, is the detail on the hatchet the sculptor gave it to make it look old and battered. I think this is the best weapon I’ve seen thus far on a figure. The caliber of detail on this thing is incredible. The detail makes it look plenty real and the dents and dings on the blade make it look like Viral has used it several times, which is what you really want in a blade of any kind to look like.

Same goes for the battered-like detail on his shoulder pads and sheath. The grime on the sheath looks pretty amazing, if you ask me. And I love how muscular and lean he looks. I TELL YA, HE IS ONE SEXY FURRY BEASTMAN.





Overall, this figure is one of the best purchases I’ve made this year and I’m very satisfied with it–no complaints whatsoever. He was also the priciest I’ve had to pay so far too (this year), ¥10,210 w/ shipping, ORZZZ. I regret canceling my order for UpLark’s Nia but I had to cut back a bit on my neverending figure splurging lolol. I will, however, try to get her at a later time and maybe Yoko too–tho I’m not too fond of UpLark’s Yoko but it’s always nice to have the whole gang. UPLARK, I DEMAND A SIMON FIGURE NEXT.

Also, despite me not having some good goddamn lighting and a nice backdrop, I think many of the photos came out fairly decent. Except the light is too strong in some photos because of the light on my ceiling orz. I wasn’t intending to take this many photos too but I had so much fun photographing him that I went a bit crazy with the camera, lol! I’m planning an outside photoshoot with Viral and Kamina together; just need to find the perfect spot.

OMAKE:

(should have added speech bubbles but too tired to think up anything, orz.)

16 Responses to “REVIEW: Viral by UpLark”


  1. October 14, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Whoa!! He looks awesome in your photos, I especially loooove the detail on his cleaver as well, and his box looks pretty nice too \(^o^)/ The last photo with Kamina in it is epic!! What did you use for the background/setup?

    UpLark BETTER make a Simon figure! I’d prefer younger Simon(he’s so cute!) but older Simon would be amazing too ^0^

    This isn’t related, but have you heard that Black Rock Shooter has been delayed another month? TT__TT At least November will be a good month…Hopefully.

    • 2 Haru
      October 14, 2009 at 7:41 am

      Thank you! ^o^!! The box is very huge and really nice. Him and Kamina look great together! I have too much fun with them both. And I actually took these pictures on the shelf of one of my bookcases. ^^; So It wasn’t much of a setup, really.

      I really hope they do! I think a younger Simon would be more suitable at this point, since he’ll compliment the other figures nicely–an older Simon would look out of place beside the rest of UpLark’s GL figures, BUT ONE WOULD BE NICE. I hope in the future they make figs of the other characters too; would love to have a Kittan figure! ^^

      AND NO WAY? That’s ridiculous. ToT Why the delay again this time? I was hoping you’d get her this month! ToT

      • October 14, 2009 at 6:14 pm

        Haha seriously? Well, your bookcase shelves look pretty good as a background!

        Oh yeah, I hadn’t thought about that! If UpLark really wanted to make a whole huge set of TTGL figures, maybe they would also make older versions of the characters? Although that would probably be asking for way too much TT_TT;; Oh well, one of each character wouls suffice. Ooo I’d buy a Kittan figure, as well as Adiane(I don’t think she even has a good figure of herself yet?)! ^0^

        I have no clue! Maybe to push its release more torwards the release of more into on the anime, at least that’s what I heard. TT_TT

        • 4 Haru
          October 14, 2009 at 8:39 pm

          Yes, I figured a good black background would be nice to use for the shoot, so what better than my bookshelf! Haha. ^^;

          An Adiane figure would be sweet! I’m pretty sure UpLark would pull that off very well, but since she didn’t really have a huge role in the series (nor was she that popular) I doubt she’d ever get the PVC treatment. ToT

          This better be the last time they delay her! ( > .<)

    • October 14, 2009 at 9:29 am

      another delay?! whats up with that? are they planning to release both BRS version together XD

  2. October 14, 2009 at 9:05 am

    wow he looks amazing! i didnt look at any pics of him till now and im surprised by the level of detail on this figure. very spot on to the anime with his menacing expression, love the little scratches on the armor and worn cleaver too ^^ about the total cost… holy jeebus! still a great purchase, he really does look like one of those figures that is worth every penny.

    your shots always turn out great even without a lighting setup. looks like you both had fun in this photo session, Viral was smiling the whole time lol looking forward to the outdoor shoot! ^^

    • 7 Haru
      October 14, 2009 at 1:42 pm

      Yes! I think he’s one of the best figures I own so far. ^^
      Holy jeebus indeed, the price was high up there but I think he was worth it, haha.

      And thank you! I’m happy you enjoy them! ^^
      I hope to find a good spot for the outdoor shoot; long grass would help, lol.

      • October 14, 2009 at 6:15 pm

        What’s the price of the figure itself? I’m surprised how much the total cost is!

        • 9 Haru
          October 14, 2009 at 6:34 pm

          The figure itself was 7,800 yen.
          Shipping is what made it come out so pricey; gotta hate EMS for that sometimes, lol.

          ETA: Actually, since I got the early-bird, he came out a bit less than the original price.

  3. October 14, 2009 at 11:14 am

    Thanks your for this sharing. It’s not my figure style ^^

  4. 12 biotoxic
    October 15, 2009 at 10:14 am

    I’m currently watching Gurren Lagann (actually, more like waiting on Vol 3 being released here in the UK) and Viral is definitely an interesting character. This figure also looks very accurate and very detailed.

    Kamina vs Viral photo-shoot will look cool :cool:

    BT

    • 13 Haru
      October 15, 2009 at 4:14 pm

      How do you like it so far? ^^ Personally, it’s one of my top favorite series; very interesting story plot and characters. I hope vol 3 comes out soon for you; the story only get very epic!

      And thanks! I hope I can find the perfect spot for the shoot.

      • 14 biotoxic
        October 16, 2009 at 1:37 pm

        I have been enjoying it a lot so far. I’m currently waiting at the point where adult Nia has revealed her true identity. I’m sure the ending will be interesting, can’t wait to see how this whole saga concludes.

        BT

  5. 15 Selidor
    October 17, 2009 at 10:06 am

    He really does look great. The details are especially impressive, and that weapon turned out just as gorgeous as in the promo pics. I like the way the sculpt is quite a different style to most anime figures, but very much in character. The pose is excellent as well. I definitely need to pick him up at some point.


Leave a Reply

Figure Reviews


Viral
G.E.M. Sakata Gintoki

Categories

currently watching

Gintama
Fairy Tail
Heroman
One Piece
Sex Pistols
Winter Sonata

